Tennessee County History and Listings
Our county-by-county listing of Tennessee has contact information and dates vital records for historic and modern-day counties.
Jump to a letter within the listings: A-C | D-F | G-I | J-L | M-O | P-S | T-V | W-Z

100 N. Main St., Clinton, TN 37716
(865) 457-6228
Incorporated: Nov. 6, 1801
Parent counties: Knox, Grainger
Marriage Records: 1838, County Clerk
Land: start in 1802, kept by Registrar of Deeds
Probate: 1830, County Clerk
Court: 1811, County Clerk
Notes: Clerk of Circuit Court had divorce records 1947-1951. Tennessee State Library and Archives or Vital Records Office has birth and death records.

1 Public Sq., Shelbyville, TN 37160
(931) 684-7944
Incorporated: Dec. 31, 1807
Parent county: Rutherford
Birth Records: 1949, Dept. of Health
Divorce: unknown start, Circuit Court
Land: start in 1808, kept by Registrar of Deeds
Court: 1840, Circuit Court
Notes: County Clerk has marriage records 1861-1987 and probate records 1861-1988. Registrar of Deeds has military discharge records 1919-1988. Courthouse destroyed by tornado in 1830 and fire in 1863.