Find Your Ancestors’ Military Records Online

Find Your Ancestors’ Military Records Online

Just about everyone has an ancestor (or more) who served in the military, and the records of their service can be rich with genealogy answers: compiled military service records (aka CMSRs), pension applications, bounty land warrants, draft registrations, discharge papers, citations, regimental histories, burial records, veterans questionnaires—the list goes...


Just about everyone has an ancestor (or more) who served in the military, and the records of their service can be rich with genealogy answers: compiled military service records (aka CMSRs), pension applications, bounty land warrants, draft registrations, discharge papers, citations, regimental histories, burial records, veterans questionnaires—the list goes on.

Our upcoming webinar Online Military Records: Document Your Family’s Service will help you use online resources to find your family’s US military records. You’ll learn:

  • what types of military records might exist for your ancestors and where to find them
  • how to track down draft registrations (even if your ancestor never served)
  • how to trace ancestors’ service in the American Revolution, Civil War, World Wars and other US wars
  • the best websites for finding military records, including Fold3, the Daughters of the American Revolution genealogy database and more

Plus you’ll be able to submit your own military research questions to presenter David A. Fryxell both when you register and during the live webinar.

The hourlong Online Military Records webinar is Thursday, Oct. 18 at 7 p.m. ET (that’s 6 p.m. CT, 5 p.m. MT and 4 p.m. PT).

Your registration includes access to the webinar recording to watch again as often as you want, a 25-page handout of the presentation slides, and a six-page handout of additional information on finding online military records.

Click here to lean more about our Online Military Records webinar (and save $10 on your registration with our early bird discount).

Related Products

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

ALL COMMENTS

  1. HI, Jeff,
    Although we can’t promise 100% what will happen during a live event, David does plan to discuss resources covering the Spanish-American War.
    To get you going in the meantime, there’s some Spanish-American War genealogy info at http://www.accessgenealogy.com/military/spanish/index.htm , and states contributing large numbers of soldiers (Pennsylvania, Illinois, New York, Ohio, and especially for Rough Riders, New Mexico) might have records at the state archives.
    The National Archives has digitized records for the Rough Riders; link to instructions for finding them and other Spanish-American War info at http://www.archives.gov/research/military/veterans/online.html#spanish-american-war