Learn How to Interpret German Genealogy Records

Learn How to Interpret German Genealogy Records

You're looking for genealogy records of your ancestors in Germany, and perhaps you've even found some. They might look like this: And it makes you understand why everyone talks about how hard it is to understand German records: Not only are you dealing with an unfamiliar language, but the...

You’re looking for genealogy records of your ancestors in Germany, and perhaps you’ve even found some. They might look like this:

And it makes you understand why everyone talks about how hard it is to understand German records: Not only are you dealing with an unfamiliar language, but the script makes the words difficult to interpret.

Most German Catholic church records are in Latin; Evangelical (Lutheran) records may be in Latin or German. Records as late as the 1930s are usually written in the old German Gothic script.

But there are tricks you can use to figure out what these church records say about your German ancestors.

Our March 14 webinar, Interpreting German Records, will teach you how to work with German genealogy records, from basic translation to decoding hard-to-read handwriting and typeface. German genealogy expert James M. Beidler will show you

  • tricks for reading German script and type
  • resources for building your vocabulary of German terms and deciphering abbreviations
  • a methodology for solving the quirks of the printed Gothic/Fraktur typeface
  • strategies for transcribing and translating the handwritten German cursive script

The Interpreting German Records webinar takes place Thursday, March 14, at 7 p.m. Eastern Time (that’s 6 p.m. Central, 5 p.m. Mountain and 4 p.m. Pacific). You’ll save $10 on your registration if you sign up before March 7!

Related Products

No Comments

Leave a Reply