English Chapman County Codes

By Paul Milmer and Linda Jones Premium

These three-letter abbreviations identify English counties (pre-1974):
BDF Bedfordshire
Berkshire BRK
BKM Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire CAM
CHS Cheshire
Cornwall CON
CUL Cumberland
DBY Derbyshire
Devon DEV
DOR Dorset
Durham DUR
ESS Essex
CLS Gloucestershire
HAM Hampshire
HEF Herefordshire
HRT Hertfordshire
Huntingdonshire HUN
KEN Kent
Lancashire LAN
Leicestershire LEI
LIN Lincolnshire
London (city only) LND
Middlesex MDX
NFK Norfolk
Northamptonshire NTH
NBL Northumberland
Nottinghamshire NTT
Oxfordshire OXF
RUT Rutland
SAL Shropshire (Salop)
SOM Somerset
Staffordshire STS
SFK Suffolk
Surrey SRY
SSX Sussex
Warwickshire WAR
WES Westmorland
Wiltshire WIL
WOR Worcestershire
YKS Yorkshire
ERY Yorkshire-East Riding
Yorkshire-North Riding NRY
Yorkshire-West Riding WRY
From the June 2000 issue of Family Tree Magazine