ADVERTISEMENT

Live Interactive Webinar – Scaling the 1870 Brick Wall in African American Genealogy

Sale!

$39.99

Tuesday, February 8, 2022  7PM ET | 6PM CT | 4PM PT


Resources and Methodologies

Attendees of this webinar will explore sources and strategies for African American genealogy research before 1870.

SKU: webinar-live-02-08-2022 Category:

Description

For many, researching before 1870 is a hurdle in African American research. Learn about sources and strategies to trace back into the Antebellum Era.

In this course, you’ll learn:

  • Sources (such as census, probate records, plantation records, and Freedmen’s Bureau records) that can help find your ancestor prior to 1870
  • How best to use these documents to trace your ancestors
  • How to incorporate timelines into your research
  • View strategies and application in case studies

About the instructor:

Ari Wilkins graduated from Louisiana State University with a bachelor’s degree in interior design.

She has been actively researching family history since 1998. Ms. Wilkins has spoken nationally at the National Genealogical Society, the Federation of Genealogical Societies, the Institute of Genealogical and Historical Research, the Salt Lake Institute of Genealogy, the Texas Institute of Genealogical Research, the Genealogical Research Institute of Pittsburgh, the American Library Association, RootsTech, and a multitude of state and local societies.

Ari has been a Library Associate at Dallas Public Library since 2007. She speaks on a multitude of genealogical subjects and specializes in African American research.

{"cart_token":"","hash":"","cart_data":""}